Regular version of site
Annual Best Coin of the Year Contest Under Way

Annual Best Coin of the Year Contest Under Way

The National Bank of Ukraine (NBU) has launched the first stage of The Best Coin of The Year Contest, which will select the best coin of 2019.

All of the Ukrainian commemorative coins  officially issued into circulation from 1 January 2019 through 31 December 2019 will feature in the contest.

The following designers of commemorative coins issued in 2019 will compete for the award of best coin designer: Liubov Androschuk, Volodymyr Demianenko, Sviatoslav Ivanenko, Mykola Kochubei, Maryna Kuts, Natalia Fandikova and ArtTrium, a group of artists:  Volodymyr Taran, Oleksandr Kharuk and Serhii Kharuk. Volodymyr Taran, Oleksandr Kharuk, Serhii Kharuk.

The contest will be held in two stages.

During the first stage, which will take place from 3 February until 6 April 2020, voters will choose the three best coins in each of the following two categories:

The best coin of the year category  will assess whether a coin should be called the coin of the year, taking into account its theme, artistic level, design, devices or images, and the technology used to produce the coin

The best treatment of a theme category assesses the general idea of a coin, the degree of its uniqueness and artistic design, and how well the designer(s) addressed the coin’s theme (an outstanding personality, an event, an institution and so on).

You can cast a vote for the best coins during the first stage of the contest in one of the following ways:

  • fill out an electronic form on the NBU’s official website
  • fill out and mail a form to
  • fill out and place a form in the special boxes in the NBU building at 2b, Kontraktova Square (city of Kyiv) and the following distributing banks: Oschadbank, Ukrgasbank, and Radabank.

Please note that you must choose different coins for each category.

The best coin in each category will be selected during the second stage of the contest. At the second stage, the NBU will create a special commission, which will comprise NBU specialists, experts in the fine arts, history and numismatics, and representatives of museums and the distributing banks. Commission members will vote by secret ballot for the best coin in each category (out of the three coins chosen during the first stage).

The NBU will announce the results of the voting at each stage on its official website.

Background information

The contest, which has already become an established practice, was first held in 2005.

The winners of last year’s contest in the best coin of the year and the best treatment of a theme categories were the coins of the 100 Years since the Establishment of Ukraine’s Academy of Sciences Set. This set consists of the following 5 hryvnia silver coins: The Era of Peace, the Era of Changes, the Era of Technologies, and The Human, Time, Space. All of the winning coins were designed by Volodymyr Taran, Oleksandr Kharuk and Serhii Kharuk.

Subscribe for notifications

Subscribe to news alerts